Padma Shri for S S Rajamouli

Monday, January 25, 2016 - 15:15

Director S S Rajamouli will be honoured with Padma Shri award. Government of India today announced Padma Award winners for year 2016.

From Tollywood, S S Rajamouli is going to receive the prestigious Padma Shri Award. The director who shot to fame worldwide with his film Baahubali will be getting the fourth highest civilian award for his contribution in cinema.

Media mogul and veteran producer Ramoji Rao has also been honored with Padma Award. He will be receiving Padma Vibhushana award, the second highest civilian award after Bharat Ratna.

Rajnikanth has been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan award for his services and excellence as star and social activist to the film industry. Padma Shri awardees this year include, Priyanka Chopra, Ajay Devgan and Madhur Bhandarkar. Veteran actor Anupam Kher and singer Udit Narayan have been awarded Padma Bhushan award.